top of page
  • Writer's pictureCanada West

Alberta Pandas 2001-07 (WHKY | Team)

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

NAME: Pandas



SPORT: Women’s Hockey

YEARS ACTIVE: 2001-2007


  • Five-time CIS champions

  • Six consecutive Canada West titles

  • 123-game unbeaten streak spanning more than four years


The word dynasty doesn't begin to do justice to the University of Alberta women’s hockey teams of the early 2000s.

Not only did the Pandas win six consecutive Canada West titles from 2001-02 to 2006-07, but they went on capture the CIS Championship in all but one of those seasons.

Led by coach Howie Draper, the Pandas teams were literally unbeatable for years.

Alberta went nearly 1,500 days without a loss, a 123-game stretch comprising 122 wins and one tie, from February 17, 2001 to March 13, 2005. From October 28, 2000 to October 21, 2005, the Pandas went undefeated in Canada West regular season games, with 83 victories and three ties.

From 2001-02 to 2006-07, the Pandas had three perfect regular seasons, going 16-0-0 in 2001-02, and 20-0-0 in both 2003-04 and 2004-05. Their most memorable campaign, however, may have been in 2002-03, when Alberta’s Danielle Bourgeois tallied a remarkable 50 points in 17 conference games and added 17 in seven playoff contests, with the Pandas ultimately going on to win the CIS championship by posting a 5-4 overtime victory over Toronto in an unforgettable national final.

The Pandas depth of talent was reflected in their individual accolades. In every season of their six-year reign, a U of A student-athlete was named Canada West Women’s Hockey Player of the Year: Bourgeois won the award three straight times from 2002-03 to 2004-05, while the honour went to Lori Shupak in 2001-02, Lindsay McAlipine in 2005-06, and Kristen Hagg in 2006-07. Shupak and Hagg would also be named CIS Player of the Year, with Bourgeois taking the top award in Canada twice, 2003-04 and 2004-05. Draper, meanwhile, received Coach of the Year from Canada West three times (2001-02, 2002-03, 2003-04) and twice from CIS (2001-02 and 2003-04). Between 2001-02 to 2006-07, the Pandas totalled 18 All-Canadian selections, with at least two every season.

TEAM MEMBERS: Adrianne VanderZalm, Alanna Donahue, Allyson Bendfeld, Amanda Smal, Andrea Thomas, Brodie MacDonald, Carol Scheibel, Claire Gariepy, Dana Vinge, Danielle Bles, Danielle Bourgeois, Danielle Sorensen, Deanne Iwanicka, Delaney Collins, Erin van de Wetering, Guen Kernaleguen, Holly Tarleton, Jamie Coffin, Jenna Barber, Jennifer Newton, Jessica Kolopenuk, Jill Chmila, Jillian Swainson Joanna Fitzgerald, Judy Diduck, Kathleen Keen, Kaye London, Kristen Hagg, Kristina Kother, Krysty Lorenz, Lara Ruppell, Leah Copeland, Leah Kinney, Lindsay McAlpine, Lindsey Skelding, Lindsie Fairfield, Lori Shupak, Mandy Kinjerski, Marsali Crerar, Mia Mucci, Nicole Chapdelaine, Patricia Tulloch, Rachel Sanders, Rayanne Reeve, Robyn Rittmaster, Shelley Reynolds, Sherri Beauchamp, Stacey McCullough, Stacy Allen, Susan Cleall, Tanielle LeBlanc, Taryn Barry, Taryn Cornelssen, Taryn Fjeld, Taryn Podloski, Tonya d'Entremont, Trish Dubyk, Trisha McNeill, Whitney Sears, Emily Frewin, Kelsey Dawson, Howie Draper (Head coach), Murry Bokenfohr (Assistant coach), Justin Reynolds (Assistant coach), Phil Richter (Assistant coach), Dave Marcinyshyn (Assistant coach), Dave Crowder (Assistant coach), Marc Ward (Assistant coach), Stacey Phillips (Assistant coach), Derek Shybunka (Assistant coach), Jen Moroskat (Assistant coach), Kent Dochuk (Assistant coach), Lorrie Horne (Assistant coach)

806 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page