top of page
  • Writer's pictureCanada West

Manitoba Bisons 1968-70 (FB | Team)

NAME: Bisons Football (1968-70)



SPORT: Football


  • Vanier Cup champions in 1969 and 1970

  • WIFL champions in 1968, 1969 and 1970

  • Inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame


In 1969 and 1970, head coach Henry Janzen’s University of Manitoba Bisons became the first team to win the Vanier Cup in consecutive seasons – a feat that has proven a tough task over the years.

In 1969, the Bisons won the Hardy Cup for a second consecutive season before going on to beat Windsor 41-7 in the Western Bowl. Manitoba capped off their perfect 8-0 season with a 24-15 win over McGill in the Vanier Cup. Bisons quarterback Bob Kraemer received the Ted Morris Memorial Trophy as Vanier Cup MVP.

The following season, Manitoba once again claimed the Hardy Cup, going on to best Queen’s 24-20 in overtime of the Western Bowl, and then Ottawa 38-11 in the 1970 Vanier Cup. The Ted Murphy Trophy went to Manitoba’s Mike Shylo.

The 1969 and 1970 teams have been inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Manitoba Football Hall of Fame.

A trio of players from the 1969 and 1970 Bisons - Kraemer, Walt McKee, and Bob Toogood – went on to play professionally in the CFL with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers.

TEAM MEMBERS - Ray Ash (Assistant Coach), Gill Bramwell, Doug Calder (Athletic Therapist), Jim Carlson, Garry Corbett, Tom Coyle, Cliff Crawford, Bart Evans, Clint Evans, Jim Fildey, Gerry Fraser, Pat Gill (Equipment Manager), Lou Furlan, Jack Galbraith, Walt Gibson, Olie Hensrud, Wayne Hildahl, Jamie Horne, Richard Howden, Dennis Hrycaiko, Nick Iafolla, Richard Jackiw, Henry Janzen (Head Coach), Bob Jaskiewicz, Bob Johnston, Bob Keating, Alan Kinley, Graham Kinley, Bob Kraemer, Hank Lodewyks, Gord Mackie (Athletic Therapist), Ian McLeod, Walt McKee, Mark Millen, Randy Miller, Terry Moss, Norm Nicol, Doug Olynyk, Roy Parker, Gord Rowland (Assistant Coach), Dean Samson, John Shanski (Assistant Coach), Bill Schick, Don Shylo, Mike Shylo, John Silver, Lawrence Stockton, Bruce Taylor, Bob Toogood, Dr. Gerry Wilson (Team Doctor), Robert Wright, Kim Ziola.

689 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page