top of page
  • Writer's pictureCanada West

Saskatchewan Huskies 1980-83 (MHKY | Team)

NAME: Huskies

UNIVERSITY: Saskatchewan


SPORT: Men’s Hockey

YEARS ACTIVE: 1980-1983


  • Three-time Canada West champions (1981, 1982, 1983)

  • 1981 and 1982 CIAU silver medalists

  • 1983 CIAU champions


The Saskatchewan Huskies dominated Canada West hockey in the early 80s, and after knocking on the door, broke through to win the program’s first national title in 1983, culminating a three-year climb to the top and cementing their dynasty status.

Led by coach Dave King, Saskatchewan had won the Canada West title in both 1981 and 1982, advancing to the CIAU gold medal game each season only to suffer last-minute losses to Moncton.

In 1982-83, the Huskies topped the Canada West regular season standings with a 16-8 record, then swept the best-of-three CW Final against Alberta, capturing a third consecutive W.G. Hardy Trophy and advancing to the CIAU championship tournament. There, the Huskies defeated Brandon 6-2, crushed Wilfrid Laurier 10-1, and then overwhelmed Concordia 6-2 to claim the 1983 University Cup. Huskies forward Willie Desjardins was named MVP after setting a championship record with 11 points in three games.

Desjardins also received the 1983 Canada West Player of the Year and Sportsmanship awards. His teammate Robin Bartel was named Canada West Rookie of the Year, while the Huskies goaltending duo of Bob Dougall and Owen Felske were awarded the Adam Kryczka Memorial Trophy for the lowest goals-against-average in the conference. King was honoured as Canada West Coach of the Year.

Over Saskatchewan’s three championship seasons spanning 1980-81 to 1982-83, the Huskies posted a 61-27 combined record in the regular season and playoffs and had 17 Canada West All-Star selections (six First Team, eleven Second Team).

The 1982-83 Huskies are members of the Huskies Wall of Fame (class of 2001), Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame (2000), and Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame (1999).

TEAM MEMBERS – Dave King (Coach), Ron Robison (Assistant Coach), Brent McEwen (Assistant Coach), Glen Hawker (Assistant Coach), Barry Gunn (Manager), Craig Gattinger (Trainer), James Gattinger (Trainer), Bill Stefaniuk (Manager), Bill Seymour (Assistant Coach), Bill Lyle Bauer (Trainer) Pat Trainor (Trainer), Bob Dougall, Steve Amiss, Gary Smith, Owen Felske, Ray Machibroda, Stu Walker, Bruce Bradshaw, Doug Archibald, Kevin Jabusch, Dave Adolph, Marlowe Allison, Kerry Preete, Mike Wirachowsky, Peter Anholt, Dick Kotje, Kerry Preete, Brent Hamilton, Mike Babcock, Robin Bartel, Rob Jacobson, Duke Duchscherer, Willie Desjardins, Rey Hudson, Bill Hlynysky, Randy Wiebe, Dell Chapman, John Bechtold, Tim Hodgson, Time Leier, Greg Wiebe, Larry Gaucher, Bruce Keller, Randy Kearney, Dean Vogelsang, Gord Cannon, Kevin McNaught, Dennis Fenske, Greg Chudiak, Marc Chartier, Kelly Kuspira, Gord Tait, Arley Olson

879 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page